EM Services quietly disclose directors on website only after feedback to PMO

Email to EM Service, Perm Sec MND and PMO.

From: pipakh
Sent: Friday, September 30, 2016 11:55 PM
To: PM LEE
Cc: PM LEE PA 1 ; <a title="ken_dxb ; JAYA ; <a title="cklau60 ; LAY CHER ; <a title="leon.perera ; HDB CEO ; <a title="QSM ; MP ZAINAL SAPARI ; <a title="pasirris ; PRITAM ; <a title="enquiry ; PSD QSM ; <a title="sdp ; SDP 1 ; <a title="stlocal ; ST NEWS ; <a title="stanley93896999 ; SYLVIA LIM ; <a title="theonlinecitizen ; TODAY ; <a title="andrew ; WP ; <a title="reachus ; ZBLOCAL
Subject: 20160930 EM Services quietly disclose directors on website only after feedback to PMO

Dear PM Lee

I refer to my feedback to EM Services (EMS), MND Perm Sec and the PMO (all correspondence enclosed).

Although EMS did not bother to inform me about the amendment, a recent check on its website has confirmed this.

Before EMS quietly amended this online page.

Directors’ names disclosed after feedback to PMO.

Nevertheless, I would like to thank the PMO for the disclosure of EMS’ directors on its website.

I hope civil servants will ensure that organisations which receive millions of tax dollars are fully transparent.

Thank you.

Regards

Phillip Ang

From: pipakh
Sent: Friday, July 22, 2016 11:14 AM
To: PM LEE
Cc: PM LEE PA 1 ; <a title="ken_dxb ; JAYA ; <a title="cklau60 ; LAY CHER ; <a title="leon.perera ; HDB CEO ; <a title="QSM ; MP ZAINAL SAPARI ; <a title="pasirris ; PRITAM ; <a title="enquiry ; PSD QSM ; <a title="sdp ; SDP 1 ; <a title="stlocal ; ST NEWS ; <a title="stanley93896999 ; SYLVIA LIM ; <a title="theonlinecitizen ; TODAY ; <a title="andrew ; WP ; <a title="reachus ; ZBLOCAL
Subject: 20160722 EM Services should disclose its directors on website

Dear PM Lee

I refer to my email to EM Services (EMS) dated 6 July (enclosed).

EMS is the managing agent of Pasir Ris-Punggol Town Council (PR-PTC). According to its website, it manages “about half a million HDB residential units, over 9,000 retail shops and office commercial units, 6,500 market and food centre stalls and 400,000 vehicle parking lots”.

Despite being the biggest managing agent in the world, relevant information could not be found on EMS website, ie there is no information on its CEO/directors.

EMS is not a neighbourhood provision shop but a joint venture between HDB, a statutory board, and Keppel Land Limited. As such, it is obligated to be transparent.

I highlighted this issue to Mrs Ow Foong Peng, MND Perm Sec, on 16 July (enclosed) after EMS had refused to respond to my queries, . My feedback was forwarded to Pasir Ris-Punggol Town Council, which, more often than not, has continued to engage in stonewalling.

The non transparent nature of EMS has raised the following questions:

1 Why does EMS fear disclosing information on its directors?
2 Why is PR-PTC condoning the non disclosure of information by EMS and acting against residents’ interests?

The government should not condone the concealment of information which belongs in the public domain. All companies with business dealings with the government should disclose their directors on their websites, including EMS.

Please reply.

Thank you and have a nice day.

Regards

Phillip Ang

From: Pasir Ris Office
Sent: Monday, July 18, 2016 4:48 PM
To: pipakh
Cc: MND qsm 1 (MND)
Subject: Re: 20160716 Town council management agent refused to reply to queries [mnd180716-131]

Dear Sir/Madam

We refer to your email sent on 18 July 2016.

In order for us to expedite in our follow-up actions, we would appreciate if you could provide us with your residential address.

For further queries, please contact our Pasir Ris office at tel: 65854938 from Monday to Friday, 8am to 5pm and on Saturday, 8am to 1pm or our Essential Maintenance Services Unit (EMSU) after office hours at 1800-2755555 for prompt attention.

Thank you for providing us with the feedback.

Ann

Administrator

Pasir Ris – Punggol Town Council

PUNGGOL OFFICE: Blk 603 Punggol Road #01-01, Singapore 820603 Tel: 6590 9500 Fax: 6659 8263 Email: punggol
SENGKANG OFFICE: Blk 266 Compassvale Bow #01-06, Singapore 540266 Tel: 6489 0520 Fax: 6385 0930 Email: sengkang
PASIR RIS OFFICE: Blk 577 Pasir Ris Street 53 #01-88, Singapore 510577 Tel: 6585 4938 Fax: 6585 4937 Email: pasirris
RIVERVALE OFFICE: Blk 156A Rivervale Crescent #01-01, Singapore 541156 Tel: 6489 0520 Fax: 6385 7120 Email: sengkang

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to EM Services quietly disclose directors on website only after feedback to PMO

  1. sinkie says:

    Why do PAP town councils insist on knowing your home address before they will do their job?!?!

    Even though the job has nothing to do with your flat itself …. e.g. it’s not like a wall dropped off your flat.

    I also had similar ridiculous demands from my PAP town council when I was complaining about non-working lights at play-grounds and void decks around my area. These are HDB common areas and yet the town council insist on my specific flat address even though I provided them with my block number and other nearby blocks also affected. It was only after forwarding my emails and complaining to HDB CEO & MND minister then the town council kuai-kuai did their job.

  2. Phillip Ang says:

    I have questioned them on transparency issues. But they do not want to commit in black and white. Of course they know my address since I move to Pasir Ris in 1999.
    My complaint, sorry feedback, is more on a national level which they will try to avoid if possible. Like for example, checking building facades (not just my block) they have avoided answering this for years.
    I know it’s not on their inspection list and as with many other issues, they work on the basis of complaints. Since Singaporeans are mostly bochap or kiasi, there’s less work for them.
    I don’t have time to pursue this matter but if I really wanted to, I will be able to get an answer.
    There are not many issues where I live, the TC knows I always mean business. But I am not only concerned about my immediate environment.
    Will write a bit more about my engagement (official one OK) with the government in order for others to understand where I am coming from.
    This will provide some encouragement for them to contribute and collectively, we can see meaningful change. Personally, I don’t gain anything by offending all the big shots in government. 🙂
    A lot of stuff shouldn’t require feedback to the highest level. In the private sector, such irresponsibility would have seen a change of estate manager. But in our case, they are perpetually forgiven by their political master.
    I am glad there are people like you, not putting up with nonsense from your TC. Encourage more engagement, copy your feedback to other civil servants and as many friends, like how I do. You could include my email add, no issue.

Leave a comment