Does Singapore have 3 sovereign wealth funds?

Singapore is known to have only 2 sovereign wealth funds, ie Temasek Holdings and GIC.

But according to a trusted website, Sovereign Wealth Centre (SWC), Singapore has 3 sovereign wealth funds.

New kid on the block is “Central Provident Fund Board” which has been listed as a “new” fund. link

​If this is true, then why was there not a squeak in Parliament?
Does this mean that CPF and real government reserves are no longer commingled?
Did the government offer to disclose this ‘new’ fund to SWC?
What other material information has been disclosed to SWC?
If CPF funds are managed separately, why are CPF members still receiving the same peanuts returns?

The government should clarify.

I queried CPF Board and it has confirmed (reply below) that CPF monies are invested in SSGS via MAS and GIC.

On Wed, Aug 23, 2017 at 8:51 AM, CPF Board (CPF) <> wrote:

Dear Mr Ang,

Thank you for your query. There is no change to the way CPF monies are managed. For more information on how CPF monies are managed, you may refer to the frequently asked questions on (“How are CPF monies invested? What does the Government do with the monies?”) on MOF’s website.  

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,  

This entry was posted in CPF. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Does Singapore have 3 sovereign wealth funds?

  1. wongcheokwan says:

    SWF SG should include assets of Temasek,GIC,MAS,Stat Boards,Ministries.
    And whatever funds available for investment.Even OngTengCheong cant produce
    the figures.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s