20161003 MinLaw perm sec’s reply impresses me

More often than not, I have been disappointed by civil servants shirking their responsibilities, skirting issues, etc. My impression of civil servants is generally negative.

I was therefore surprised to receive a totally-upfront reply in my recent feedback to MinLaw perm sec. Such engagement by a leader creates a positive impression of not just the person but also the organisation he works for.

From: pipakh
Sent: Friday, September 30, 2016 6:37 PM
To: PERM SEC LAW
Cc: AGO WILLIE TAN ; <a title=”ago_email ; PM LEE PA 1 ; <a title=”PSD_PS21 ; PSD QSM ; <a title=”wongcheokwan ; HENG ; <a title=”jayakumar89 ; LAU ; <a title=”leon.perera ; SDP ; <a title=”crm ; STANLEY ; <a title=”stlocal ; ST NEWS ; <a title=”sylvia ; TOC ; <a title=”news ; TRE ; <a title=”organising ; YAHOO ; <a title=”zblocal
Subject: 20160930 Thank you

Dear Mr Ng

Your engagement is greatly appreciated.

It’s now clear to me that Mr Ng is not the kind of person insinuated in my feedback to the PMO. Please accept my apology.

Thank you and have a nice day.

Regards

Phillip Ang

From: How Yue NG (MLAW)
Sent: Thursday, September 29, 2016 8:49 AM
To: pipakh
Subject: RE: 20160928 Civil servants should not be afraid to admit their mistakes, engagement needed

Message Classification: Restricted

Dear Mr Phillip Ang,

Thank you for pointing out the typo in my CV on the MinLaw website. I also apologise for not replying you earlier.

What happened was that I had asked a colleague to help check if indeed there had been a typo. My computer that allows me to access my emails does not allow access to the Internet, and I did not have another computer device with me at that time. My colleague had checked and corrected the typo, but did not tell me this had been done. I relate this chain of events not to excuse my tardiness, but to explain that it was not my intention to not reply to you.

Regards,

NG How Yue, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Law

100 High Street, #08-02, The Treasury, Singapore 179434 | t-(65)-6332 8816 | f (65) 6339 5531 | www.mlaw.gov.sg

Privileged or confidential information may be contained in this email. If you are not the intended addressee, you must not copy or distribute the mail or take any action in reliance thereon. Communication of any information in this mail to any unauthorised person may be an offence under the Official Secrets Act (Cap 213). If you have received this mail in error, please delete it and notify the sender immediately. Thank you.

From: pipakh [mailto:pipakh@singnet.com.sg]
Sent: Wednesday, 28 September, 2016 6:17 PM
To: PMO Hsien Loong LEE (PMO)
Cc: AGO Email (AGO); Willie TAN (AGO); C K WONG; HENG; JAYA; LAU; leon.perera@wp.sg; How Yue NG (MLAW); Connie CHAN (PMO); PSD PS21 (PSD); PSD QSM (PSD); SDP; SDP 1; STANLEY; ST LOCAL; ST NEWS; sylvia@wp.sg; TOC; TODAY; TRE; WP; YAHOO; ZBLOCAL
Subject: 20160928 Civil servants should not be afraid to admit their mistakes, engagement needed

Dear PM Lee

I refer to my 2 emails to Mr Ng How Yue, MinLaw Perm Sec, and my subsequent feedback to the PMO (enclosed).

A simple question was posed to Mr Ng which he has refused to reply.

I was merely providing a useful feedback to Mr Ng and if he had made a typo, he should have just own up. As head of the Law Ministry, Mr Ng should have exercised basic courtesy in replying and be exemplary to his subordinates.

Instead of acknowledgement, Mr Ng had the error corrected. link Does it mean there was no mistake?

The government should be mindful that disengagement will lead to an undesirable loss of trust in the civil service. Please take note that this is not my first encounter.

Thank you and have a nice day.

Regards

Phillip Ang

From: pipakh

Sent: Tuesday, September 20, 2016 6:52 PM

To: PM LEE

Cc: PM LEE PA 1 ; <a title=”PSD_PS21 ; PSD Enquiry (PSD) ; <a title=”PSD_QSM

Subject: 20160920 Was Mr Ng a Director-General of Singapore Customers in 2003?

Dear PM Lee

I refer to my query to Mr Ng Yue How, Perm Sec of Law dated 22 August and a reminder on 2 September (enclosed).

This is a simple query which Mr Ng could not have overlooked. Was Mr Ng a Director-General of Singapore Customers?

According to MinLaw:

“Mr Ng has held various appointments in his Public Service career, including Director-General of Singapore Customers in 2003, ..”.

As PM Lee has reminded MPs at least a couple of times that they exist as servants of the people, perhaps the same reminder should also be issued to all civil servants, regardless of their status.

Please reply.

Thank you and have a nice day.

Regards

Phillip Ang

From: pipakh

Sent: Friday, September 02, 2016 8:42 PM

To: PERM SEC LAW

Subject: 20160902 Was Mr Ng a Director-General of Singapore Customers in 2003?

Dear Mr Ng

I refer to me query dated 22 August (enclosed).

It’s a simple query but there has been no response for almost 2 weeks.

Were you a Director-General of Singapore Customers in 2003?

Regards

Phillip Ang

From: pipakh

Sent: Monday, August 22, 2016 11:06 AM

To: PERM SEC LAW

Subject: 20160822 Was Mr Ng a Director-General of Singapore Customers in 2003?

Attn:

Mr Ng How Yue

Perm Sec, Ministry of Law

Dear Mr Ng

According to MinLaw’s website, you were a “Director-General of Singapore Customers in 2003”.

Please confirm if there was no typo.

Regards

Phillip Ang

This entry was posted in EMAIL TO PM LEE/MINISTERS/GOVT. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

